Dont Cry Over a Broken HeelAnyone have a band-aid? Heels and band-aids go hand and hand. Did anyone ever tell you this as a child? No ma’am it is a learned survival skill. What happens if you don’t have a band-aid? Well I’ll tell you it’s a mess!

A few years back I attended a party. We all put on our best outfits and highest heels for a night out on the town in a limo and all sudden….. there is bloodshed. Not a full on blood bath because this limo is full of me and my closest friends of course. {Insert woo girl joke from How I Met Your Mother here} but seriously one of my friends stabbed me in the arm with her heel trying to get to her seat. Obviously, I can not get blood on this outfit that I took weeks to pick out. So I reach in my purse and no band-aid! WHAT?!?! I did not prepare myself for not only a blister much less a puncture wound. But my girlfriend (who stabbed me) quickly came to my rescue a band-aid. Saving the night!

Yes, I do realize I’m being dramatic but I tell you that to tell you this. From a young age we have learned to protect ourselves from getting stabbed with heals. Most of us can remember vividly the 1st time we got stabbed by a heel. Mine was getting invited to a party only to come home to a message on my parents voicemail from a bunch of older girls making sure I could not attend by telling my parents to make sure I brought beer and chuckling. I was in high school and being invited to a party was an exciting honor that somehow made me feel popular. Squashed just like that. Now I have my thoughts why they did this to me but I took it on the chin and continued to let them bully me for years. Those stories are for another time but if I want to get to the point I better get to it.

Surround yourself with people that have a band aids for your wounds. Those people that make you happy. Not the people from the Jerry Springier that throw their shoes across the room at you type. It takes all types to make the world go around even if some are viscous.

Make it a habit to uplift and people will follow. Stop forcing yourself to be around people that stab you. That is not where you find those friends that will give up their band-aid for you as you would for them. Sisterhoods and tribes are amazing. Let’s face it we all grew up thinking Prince Charming was the one that would sweep us off our feet. But I have learned surrounding yourself with good caring positive people is a much better way to happiness. That starts with us being kind and uplifting each other. So I challenge you to change people minds and make an impact. Lead by example be positive supportive and even if it’s your heel that accidentally stabs someone always have band-aids to help them!

One thought on “Ouch! That heel just stabbed me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.